Will My Washington Driver’s License Be Suspended?
AYes. After 60 days of your arrest be advised that your driver’s license will surely be suspended except if you challenge the case. In order to be able to challenge your DUI license suspension, it is compulsory and essential that you or your Tacoma DUI (Driving Under the Influence) lawyer submit a hearing request form to the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) within a time frame of 7 days from the date of your arrest.
Different factors will determine the length of your suspension, which may include how your criminal case is been charged and whether have a mutual agreement. The outcome of your DOL inquiry determines the result of whether your license is suspended.
However, if your lawyer has the capability to help you to negotiate the criminal case down to a smaller charge, it is possible that you will have a limited suspension or you can also avoid the suspension. If your lawyer also wins the DOL inquiry there is a possibility of license suspension avoidance.
Must I Go Through Alcohol Or Drug Treatment?
AYou are required to go through an alcohol or drug test assessment so as to know if treatment is required when you are charged with a DUI in Washington State.
A well trained Tacoma DUI lawyer will ensure you have a good recommendation from evaluators and a treatment facility that is based on their knowledge with agencies. Our Tacoma DUI attorneys can also provide you with paperwork that the evaluators need and also ensures that you get recognition with the court on your completion of the evaluation.
Do I have to have an Ignition Interlock Device?
ADepending on your criminal records, you might require an ignition interlock devices as soon as your first appearance in the court room. If your license is suspended, you may also be required to have an ignition interlock device and it is essential that it is applied through the Department of Licensing. It is not advisable to apply for an ignition interlock device without the full knowledge of an attorney because it waives your privilege to challenge your license suspension.
Is a Tacoma DUI a Misdemeanor or Felony?
AIf this is your first DUI it could be a misdemeanor. A felony DUI levy can be filed if you have numerous Tacoma DUI/DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) convictions and if anyone is wounded in an accident which is held to be because of your intoxication status. There are compulsory small penalties for a first time DUI crime in Washington State.
What about Jail Time?
AA DUI conviction may require a jail period of 1-2days as a first timer. But, there are numerous ways available in which your attorney can help you to discuss a jail period. It is essential that you have an experienced attorney with the court and prosecutors where your case is been litigated.
Will I Be Required to Have Special Insurance if I’m Convicted of DUI?
AA consequence of a DUI arrest may be a driver license suspension. In the event that your license is suspended you will be required to buy high-risk insurance (SR-22) for a period of 3 years.
Do I Really Require An Attorney?
ANo, but you will want an attorney that will be able to direct you through various comprehensive legal systems. It is a good idea to hire a law firm that will do exceedingly well. The Horwath Tacoma DUI Law Firm serves as an intercessor for our clients and we are going to do everything through in our ability to ensure you are not convicted of DUI.